Ngathingpei Khayi

You can make anything by writing – CS Lewis

Record Breaking Machine!!

Do you want to break some world records? Meet Guinness Rishi who has broken 22 world records and has around 300 record breaking ideas to work on. Mandate fixed a date with the man to check out what he is really up to?

People call him crazy and family is not that happy with what he does. For sure you will also turn to give a second glance if he passes by you. That’s because Guinness Rishi looks more like a poster of flags and world map that is used in geography classes. Face all covered with tattoos, if that was not enough head, body and not even leaving the fingers. He has 366 nationals’ flag, including around the world map on his torso. He came out with all smile and took me into his office. To my surprise, the two sides of the walls were full of certificates and recognitions from Guinness Book of Records, Limca Book of Records and India Book of Records. People spend their life time to break one record but he has 22 under his name and wants to do more of it.

Initially the whole record breaking thing started accidentally. “During 1980 I was working with an automobile company and as an endorsement program I had to drive the 50cc moped, Luna around the country. I travelled 19000 km in five months. In the process I met lots of people, including media and they told me that I can also attempt for records.” In 1990, he created a world record of non stop scooter riding 30,965 Km in 1001 hours with the help of Amarjeet Singh and Novjot Chadha. And this record has not been broken yet. After this there was no turning! “I have broken twenty two Guinness records, out of which I have received seven Guinness World Record certificates and fifteen are pending. Actually to get fast track record decision you need to pay four hundred fifty pounds for each certificate. Why should I pay for something that should be given to me and on that I don’t have that much money,” says the 70 years old.

As we spent more time together things were getting more interesting. “It is very easy to break records, you just need to be a little bit more curious about the things around you. Like, I will try to kill ninety nine mosquitoes in five minutes.” Wow, this idea never struck your mind, right? According to him it’s very simple, especially in India where such kind of places can be easily found. “Wear an all black dress; go to cow shed or some dirty place with a flash light.” Bingo! There you are, you just broke a world record.

Another idea for single man, “Get married 100 times with same person in different places. If my wife agrees I am ready to get married with her 400-500 times.” But I don’t think its going to be happening very soon because she busy doing her household chore, giving a damn about what the old man is talking. “Earlier I used to give lots of idea for free but people don’t take it seriously, rather laugh it off. So now these days I take service charge for my ideas. I don’t use a penny of that amount on myself but help them only in breaking the records.”

One of his latest attempts that went wrong but very interesting was, “I stood in the recent Delhi Municipality election and my plan was to be the first election campaigner who didn’t get a single vote. I told them not to vote for me as I was just wanted to break a record not to serve them.” Irony of life is that some people asked him to buy them drink or else they will vote for him. And indeed he got twenty odd votes, for which he is suspecting his wife also.

But can a man get so much into his work that he names himself after it? His real name is Har Prakash Rishi from Dheerpur colony, Delhi. “When I started breaking records and went around the world, some people started addressing me as Mr. Guinness. So with the agreement with the publisher of Guinness World Record publisher I changed my name to Guinness Rishi.” He has lots of interesting records under him like longest distance pizza delivery when he delivered it to his son from Delhi to San Francisco. Or like the longest will of 489 pages and shortest with just two words. And then the smallest Quran though he is a Hindu. If that’s not enough he is oldest adoptee when he adopted his own bother in law, 61 years 7 month 22 days. This man has no teeth because of some sickness but he took it on his stride. He has the record of inserting maximum number of straws (496) in ones mouth. He didn’t even leave his son’s wedding; he made the smallest wedding card.

It was not an easy task to walk with him on the street, as he took all the lime light. “Well people have a very short memory and I want them to remember me after I am gone. That’s why I am doing all these.” He is in the process for another record, I am going to tattoo my body with a sentences ‘Lets us unite against terrorism’ in various language. After that with my partner Dr. Arvind we will go around the world, first clockwise and then anti clock wise. On the way we are going to meet all the heads of the countries and present them a stole to them with those wording and the flags.” Well indeed that was a noble idea but what about family support? “They are always with me in what ever I am doing. The only problem they have with me is my tattoos, they are asking me to remove it, if not all, then at least the face,’ says Guinness Rishi with a smile.

One comment on “Record Breaking Machine!!

  1. Pingback: This Indian Man Will Shock You With All That He Has Done To Break 20 Guinness World Records - TechAkshay.com

Leave a Reply

