Ngathingpei Khayi

You can make anything by writing – CS Lewis

Making stars healthy

Yasmin Karachiwala.jpg 1

When her patrons make move the whole nation goes mad and screams out for more. Know more about celebrity trainer Yasmin Karachiwala, the reason behind the fabulous body of Bollywood divas like Katrina Kaif, Deepika Padukone and Kareena Kapoor.

Like every normal girl in her teenage Yasmin Karachiwala was also living life in her own terms. However as they say when you’re destined for something, everything around you starts shaping-up for it. “This profession picked me I didn’t. A friend forced me to join gym with her, as she went to weights section so I just opted for aerobic class. And I made a complete fool of myself to the point of being embarrassed. I hate failing at anything so I started going back to the class until I knew the routines as well as the instructor,” says the celebrity trainer on how she became one. “One day the instructor was unwell and called me to take her class. I took the class and realized that I enjoyed doing it. And that was it! Soon after college I went to the US to get myself certified as an instructor and I have been addicted to it ever since.” And here starts her love story with the stars.

Today she is a well known name among the healthy celebs and her clientele list is quite pretty long. Some names to start with Katrina Kaif, Deepika Padukone, Kareena Kapoor, Alia Bhatt, Malaika Arora Khan, Ileana D’Cruz, Sophie Choudry, Kiara Advani, Shazahn Padamsee and Zarine Khan. “I enjoyed working with each one of them because training everyone is a different experience. They all have different goals to achieve,” with whole bunch of star names to pick she plays safe by not choosing a favorite. However according to her there are celebrities in the glamour world who has set a benchmark in terms of being healthy. “Akshay Kumar is the fittest star in India, no doubt. One of the most disciplined people and what I admire most about him is that there is a consistency in the way he looks – lean and fit. His regime is not only limited to weight training, but includes martial arts, parkour, functional training, etc. And internationally, Madonna is someone I have always looked up to as even at her age she is in great shape,” says the forty-four year old health expert.Katrina Kaif Gym Working Out Pictures

Yasmin Karachiwala is one of the first BASI certified Pilates instructor in India. “BASI certification is a very comprehensive training program in Pilates, where I spent six months in the United States and learnt the Mat, Reformer, Wunda chair, Cadillac, Barrels compared to other certifications that offer single equipment certifications,” she explains. Yasmin Karachiwala who owns a gym by name Body Image in Mumbai thinks that perfect fitness is not just staying slim but overall fitness of body and mind. “We try to understand the needs of the client and then design a program specific to each individual’s fitness goals. We encourage clients to do what they enjoy as only then it can be a part of their daily routine. If someone doesn’t enjoy going to the gym we advise them to run, swim, walk their dog, try yoga, Pilates anything that they enjoy doing.” Adding to that, she emphasizes just doing work-outs won’t make one healthy but along with that proper food is very significant. “Eating healthy along with physical activity is of utmost importance as when you exercise your body becomes acidic, so it is essential that your diet include alkalizing foods like fruits, veggies, nuts, sprouts that provide a variety of nutrients and keep you energized.”

In this age of fast-food and instant-solution, we are sure that there must be people who came for her expert advice for quick way to get healthy. “As the saying goes there is no short-cut to success. It applies here also there is no short cut to fitness. It’s not just about weight loss, its more about making health and fitness a lifestyle. I don’t endorse quick fixes, the only thing you can quickly fix is your attitude,” says candidly but the truth. This mother of two teenage boys (14 and 16) agrees that there is no better way to stay healthy then do outdoor activities but sadly, “There is so much pollution in our cities. One will get sick instead of getting healthy and on top of that not enough open spaces for physical activity.”

Yasmin with Deepika Padukone (2)Since her job is to take care of others health but one wonders when and how she does for herself. “I exercise every single day except Sundays. I block an hour a day on my schedule for my work-outs. I live by the philosophy of practicing what I preach. I do a combination of strength and functional training, Crossfit, Kettlebells, Trx, Bosu, Pilates and cardio. I eat a balanced diet, which has enough protein, fibre, fats and good carbs. I don’t eat any carbs after seven in the evening. I include a lot of alkalizing foods like fruits, nuts and vegetables,” happily she shares her own formula of fitness. And finally before she gets into her running shoes Jasmine Karachiwala signs off with a positive note, “I believe that everyone should be fit, because they deserve it!”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 22, 2015 by in Achievers, Bollywood, Brands, People & Places, Sports and tagged , .
